A+ A A-

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Video Review

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Video Review

Dark days were really upon the Final Fantasy franchise when the original Final Fantasy XIV happened, including to the ones who developed it, the ones who played it, and the characters that once existed in it. In an effort to save the worst main series Final Fantasy game ever, Square Enix made the decision to relaunch the game. A new network structure was created, a new story was written, new music was composed, and major gameplay changes were implemented. The major rework resulted in a surtitle: A Realm Reborn. This is the review of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn as of Patch 2.1.

Note: Because MMO games can have such diverse experiences, it is hard to give a single gameplay perspective that covers even half of all common types of possible playthroughs. This review was from the perspective of a Level 50 Elezen Paladin tank, who was a part-time Dragoon damage guy and White Mage healer, explored some of the endgame, did a bit of crafting, and had yet to enter the fray of Player vs. Player matches.

Last Updated: Monday, 24 February 2014 07:32

Hits: 3002

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Review

Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn Review

Dark days were really upon the Final Fantasy franchise when the original Final Fantasy XIV happened, including to the ones who developed it, the ones who played it, and the characters that once existed in it. In an effort to save the worst main series Final Fantasy game ever, Square Enix made the decision to relaunch the game. A new network structure was created, a new story was written, new music was composed, and major gameplay changes were implemented. The major rework resulted in a surtitle: A Realm Reborn. This is the review of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn as of Patch 2.1.

Last Updated: Monday, 24 February 2014 07:28

Hits: 1594

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Review

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Revew

Tomb Raider is a franchise that has a place in the hearts of many gamers, though in recent years the adventures of Lara Croft just weren't connecting with people. That is until last year's Tomb Raider reboot. It was a fantastic game, winning many Game of the Year Awards at multiple publications. Now the Definitive Edition is here with all the DLC, and an updated graphics engine for the new consoles. But is it worth sixty dollars for a better looking game and some extra content?

Last Updated: Monday, 10 February 2014 08:07

Hits: 7956

The Walking Dead Season Two, Episode 1: All That Remains Review

The Walking Dead Season 2, Episode 1 Review

The first season of The Walking Dead by Telltale pretty much came out of nowhere and surprised everyone. Difficult choices, some of the best writing in gaming, gut wrenching memorable moments and great atmosphere made Season One many publication’s (including The Gamer Access) game of the year in 2012. Well one year after the conclusion of the heartbreaking first season, the second is here. The question is does it live up to the incredibly high standard of the first? Read more to find out!

Last Updated: Monday, 23 December 2013 08:34

Hits: 507

Dark Review

Dark Review

I'd like to start this review with an apology; this year has been rough for me, and it has severely impacted my ability to contribute to this site. I'm hoping that as I move forward with dealing with issues in my life, I'll be able to get back into the swing of things on this wonderful website of ours. I hope you guys can bear with me.

Last Updated: Monday, 07 October 2013 08:14

Hits: 574

Grand Theft Auto V Review

Grand Theft Auto V Review

Grand Theft Auto is a series that sparks excitement for pretty anyone who enjoys video games. The large detailed open worlds, varied missions, and great writing along with its controversial subject matter has earned GTA quite the reputation. The question is after five years does the newest entry in the series live up to the name?

Last Updated: Wednesday, 02 October 2013 08:29

Hits: 685

Diablo III (Console Versions) Review

Diablo III (Console Versions) Review

It's been quite some time since I have played Diablo II, a little over a decade. So when I heard over a year ago that they were releasing Diablo III for PC I was very excited and a little disappointed at the same time. I loved the predecessor when I was a kid and played it on PC but knew I probably wouldn't get around to playing it this time since I'm not usually a huge PC gamer. For people like me, hearing the title was going to make its way to console was elating and I couldn't wait to play it. A couple days after it came out I bought it for Xbox 360 and one level 60 Demon Hunter later, I'm hooked. As always I like to get the bad news out of the way first, so let's go ahead and take a look at the good, the bad and the ugly of Diablo III.

Last Updated: Friday, 27 September 2013 10:27

Hits: 598

Madden NFL 25 Review

Madden NFL 25 Review

Every year, there are some things in the video game industry that never seem to change. One of those things is the release of Madden NFL to mark the beginning of the fall video game rush. For twenty-five years Madden has slowly moved towards emulating the real NFL. The question is this year’s twenty-fifth anniversary edition Madden NFL 25 a large step forward or a small incremental change? Read more to find out.

Last Updated: Friday, 30 August 2013 11:16

Hits: 1494

Dragon's Crown Review

Dragon's Crown Review

For years, table-top games and video games have pulled ideas and themes from Dungeons and Dragons. From Gauntlet to World of Warcraft, something just clicks about four to five people taking down the forces of evil in a realm of magic, knights, and dragons. Well Dragon's Crown takes those principles and applies them to an RPG Beat-‘em-up combo. The question is how did it turn out? Read more to find out!

Last Updated: Thursday, 01 August 2013 11:59

Hits: 550

BioShock Infinite Review

BioShock Infinite Review

What a strange beast Bioshock: Infinite is. It triumphs, it falls. It aims high, and hits, yet misses at the same time. It's a lot to think through, and even though I've had a few days now to let it sit in my head, my mind has only had more to think and ponder on. To put it simply though, there's a saying about aiming for the moon, so that if you fall short, you're still among the stars. Ignoring the fact that stars are much farther out from the Earth than the moon, Bioshock: Infinite is the perfect example of aiming for the moon, shooting past the stars, and damn near getting there.

Last Updated: Thursday, 11 April 2013 14:53

Hits: 1326

Latest Editorials

Latest Interviews

Copyright 2008-2014, The Gamer Access

Login or Register

LOG IN

Register

User Registration
or Cancel